JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 64
Tuesday, 23 April 2002

Adelaide College of Divinity and Coolamon College in negotiation

Coolamon College hopes to join Adelaide College of Divinity and move to Adelaide.

Coolamon College, the Uniting Church's specialist provider of distance theological education, has issued a request to become a constituent member of Adelaide College of Divinity (ACD) from the beginning of 2003. Located in Brisbane, Coolamon College would move to Adelaide if the link with ACD happens.

"Productive negotiations have occurred towards the achievement of this goal," said Revd Philip Marshall, President of ACD. "The ACD has received the request from Coolamon College with enthusiasm. We are working to achieve a satisfactory agreement in the near future."

Coolamon College, an agency of the National Assembly of the Uniting Church, aims "to make accessible quality theological education to adults who otherwise do not have the opportunity to participate". The College views the link with ACD and move to Adelaide as a strategic positioning for future ministry.

"ACD has been specifically chosen by Coolamon College because of its range of awards, ecumenical approach, university link and focus on the ministry needs of students," affirmed Revd Dr Anita Monro, Acting Principal of Coolamon College. Adelaide College of Divinity also forms the School of Theology for Flinders University.

The Uniting Church's National Assembly Standing Committee has approved the proposal for Coolamon College to link with Adelaide College of Divinity and move to Adelaide sometime in 2003.

The Uniting Church's Synod of South Australia has also welcomed the proposed move. The recent Council of Synod meeting made a commitment to the future provision of services to Coolamon College, and funding support for transitional costs.

"SA Synod fully supports the request by Coolamon College," said SA General Secretary, Stuart Cameron. "Coolamon College would join the Synod's College, Parkin Wesley, in a significant partnership for the Uniting Church as well as for ACD."

Current constituent members of ACD are Parkin-Wesley College (UCA), St Barnabus' Theological College (Anglican), Catholic Theological College and Nungalinya College (Ecumenical). The Churches of Christ are an associate member of ACD.


Media Contact: Revd Dr Anita Monro, Acting Principal, Coolamon College, Phone: 07 3377 9940